LAFC Make Roster Moves Ahead of 2019 Season

LAFC made roster moves ahead of their second ever Major League Soccer season, which is set to begin in 2019.

LAFC roster moves

The club exercised options on five players. This list includes goalkeeper Tyler Miller, who was integral to their success in year one, three midfielders – Mark-Anthony Kaye, Lee Nguyen, Josh Pérez – and forward Shaft Brewer Jr.

Goalkeepers Charlie Lyon and Quillan Roberts are no longer with the club, as they have had their contract options declined. Meanwhile, midfielders Nico Czornomaz, Calum Mallace and James Murphy, will also not return to LAFC next season. Finally, neither Steeve Saint-Duc nor Marco Ureña are returning to LAFC.

Starting on December 31st of this year, Jordan Harvey, Dejan Jaković, Walker Zimmerman and Benny Feilhaber will be out of contracts. Zimmerman was a key defender for the squad last season, but made it clear he was ready to take on European soccer.

Three players have had their loans expired, including goalkeeper Luis López, defender Danilo Silva, and midfielder Aaron Kovar.

Only Jaković, Mallace and Harvey are able to utilize the MLS Re-Entry Draft.

What next?

LAFC now have 16 players under contract heading into year two of MLS play. Bob Bradley and the coaching staff will have to work hard during the offseason to build better depth.

Related Articles


Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker